Balance

Christian Louboutin Mater Claude heels, Yanuk boyfriend jeans (really old), BDG tank, shawl knitted by my grandmother

One of the things that gets talked about often in fashion is balance – wearing high-end with low end, tight tops with loose bottoms, tight bottoms with loose tops, neons with neutrals – you get the idea. When boyfriend jeans came back a few years ago, I was skeptical at best, but then our fashion-forward leaders started pairing them with fabulous shoes, and I started buying in – I think that’s because I dig balance.

We got back into town Sunday evening after a morning of paddle-boarding and a three-hour drive back from the coast and I was exhausted, so dinner out was in order. My lack of energy also contributed to my lack of desire to put much effort into an outfit, and I found myself digging through my stack of jeans for my most comfortable pair. What I like about outfits like these – pretty much as simple as they come – is they can be instantly elevated with a chic shoe, providing a nice balance to an otherwise lazy ensemble. And balance is something we can all use a little more of, especially when teetering on stilettos, right?

8 thoughts on “Balance

Leave a Reply

