Sequins + stripes

Zara embroidered sequined mini skirt, Garnet Hill A-line seamed tank, Stuart Weitzman heels, Chloe sunglasses, Clare Vivier neon stripe flat clutch, vintage necklace

I’ve always tended to shy away from sequins in summer months because something about them has a decidedly holiday-ish feel. Attend a Christmas party or a New Years Eve bash and you’re sure to be blinded by the sparkly numbers donned by a likely vast majority of the female guests, so it’s no surprise that I’ve come to associate this shiny adornment with a particular (cold) time of year. But last week as I stared into my closet feeling uninspired while I got dressed for our anniversary dinner, I remembered my own advice regarding stripes and their ability to summer-ify almost any look, and decided to give sequins a summer whirl.

What do you think – Christmasey, or June-appropriate?

15 thoughts on “Sequins + stripes

  1. Totally summer appropriate – and this quote is so funny : “stripes and their ability to summer-ify almost any look”!

    I would never have thought of it in those terms, but you’re right, it’s totally true! I bet just throwing them on with any outfit immediately evokes thoughts of sailing and maritime travels or what not. Does the charm here – that’s for sure.

    I’m obsessed with that neon-striped clutch. It’s such an unexpected addition to the outfit, but I love what it does for it! Really adds some playfulness (as if the sequins weren’t enough, haha) .

    You look fantastic! And I really love the brick wall you’ve taken the photos against. Something about the whatish grey goes really well with your ensemble. A couple great angles there too!

    -Gabrielle

    • Thanks Gabrielle! We randomly found that wall on the side of an abandoned building downtown – I love how through this blog I’ve started to notice random interesting backdrops like that around here.

Leave a Reply

