Hostess Gifting

We all find ourselves in situations where friends/family/whoever are hosting us at their homes for one thing or another – parties, dinners, to spend the weekend – and I always wonder, what should I bring? Ask the hostess (or host) and she’s almost always sure to tell you that you don’t need to bring a thing, but I still hate walking in empty-handed (and sometimes I wonder if she really means that). If you’re like me, the what-to-bring quandary has irked you on more than one occasion, so here are a few classic (and not-so-classic) hostess gift ideas.

Socks – This one’s a bit unconventional, but I love it. My friend Rachel recently came to stay with us for a weekend visit, and she brought the cutest socks for both me and my husband. The thought of socks as a hostess/host gift had never crossed my mind before, but now, I’m obsessed. A cute pair of socks is the perfect gift to bring when you’re staying in someone’s home – everyone wears socks (and can always appreciate a nice new pair), you don’t have to know someone’s size and they’re a great gift for both women and men. Win.

Flowers – Everyone, and I mean everyone, likes fresh flowers. I like to pick up blooms from our local farmers’ market as a little gift for hostesses – it’s great to support local farmers and shop local; plus, they tend to be a little more wallet-friendly at the market than at the florist.

Baked goods – Nothing shows your appreciation more than a baked good crafted in your very own kitchen (these vanilla bean-coconut cupcakes are surprisingly easy to make yet seem like they took hours of slaving away to create). Can’t stand the heat? Pick something up at a local bakery – though it won’t have the personal touch of something you made yourself, there are few hostesses that would turn their noses up at a tasty baked good.

Wine – Wine is a classic hostess gift – head to a dinner or cocktail party and there are sure be at least a few gifted bottles floating around – but it’s always appreciated. If it doesn’t help share the burden of hosting a group of boozers, it can provide your hosts with some much-needed personal backup at the end of a long day later on. I try to keep a mental list of wines I know I like so I can make the gifted bottle of wine at least a tiny bit more personal and tell the hostess something about it so she knows what to expect (and so I’m not gifting something that tastes like two-buck chuck).

15 thoughts on “Hostess Gifting

  1. I like the idea of socks – I had never thought of that either!

    I saw a cute gift basket idea on Pinterest: “Bread so you’ll never go hungry. Candles so you’ll always have light through the darkest times. Honey so you’ll always enjoy the sweetness of life. Olive Oil so you will be blessed with health and well-being. Salt so there will always be flavor and spice in your life. Wine so you will always have joy and never go thirsty.”

  2. LOVE the socks idea! I have a huge collection of socks, not a normal Hanes pair in the bunch. So getting a fun new pair would be awesome and gifting a pair is even more fun!

  3. My friends are the same way they always say I don’t need to bring them anything but I feel like if they are nice enough to host something they deserve a little gift. These are some great ideas I will keep them in mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

